Best Cars to Buy• Compare Vehicle Insurance Quotes • Liability Insurance Leads • Check Your Driving Record • Rental Car discount coupon • Convertible Car seats

2020 - TLSAE

Florida 4 Hour First Time Driver/Driver's License Prep Course - Offered to new potential drivers who have never had a license. It is required by the state of Florida to attain a permit/license. This course is approved by the State of Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (FL DMV). For your convenience, this course can be done entirely online.

This 4-Hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course is certified by the Department Highway Safety Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). If you are getting your Florida learners permit or your First License as a young driver, you must take this required course. All drivers getting their first drivers license in Florida are required to take this course.

Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education
If you have never been issued a license in any jurisdiction (state or country), you are required to complete a traffic law and substance abuse education course before you will be issued a license.

Driver Education
Driver education courses can help you develop the skills you need to be a safe driver.

Florida's Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law has three stages:

1)    Learner’s License
2)    Intermediate License
3)    Full Privileged License

1) Learner's License
You must have completed a four hour TLSAE - Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course, pass a written test, vision test, hearing test, and have a signed Parental Consent Form.

Florida GDL Law: A teen must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner’s license and must hold the permit for at least 12 months. During this time, the teen must have 50 hours of driving practice with at least 10 hours at night. With a learner’s license, the teen may:

  • Only drive during daylight hours for the first three months
  • Only drive until 10 p.m. for the remaining 9 months
  • Only drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old
2) Intermediate License

Florida GDL Law:
To obtain a provisional license, a teen must be at least 16. Under this license, a teen has different restrictions depending on his or her age:

Age 16: Driving prohibited between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless traveling to or from work
Age 17: Driving prohibited between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless traveling to or from work

3) Full Privileged License at age 18
At age 18, a Florida teen can obtain his or her full privileged license.

Learn More on Florida driver's license

Register Florida Drug and Alcohol Test Course Now!


Required by the Florida Division of Motorist Services of the DHSMV for all first time Florida driver's license applicants under Florida Statute 322.095. Approved by the State of Florida.

For individuals of under the age of 15, in pursuit of a Florida driver’s license,  who wants to complete the road rules and road signs tests that are required to obtain a Florida learner permit. To teach the effects of drugs and alcohol on driving and related traffic laws.

Florida Drivers Ed Course Content:
  • Physiological and psychological consequences of alcohol and other substances of abuse.
  • Societal and economic costs of alcohol and other substances of abuse.
  • Effects of alcohol and other substances of abuse on a driver.
  • Review of Florida traffic laws relating to the operation of a motor vehicle.
Students must pass the post test with a 70% or higher test score to receive their course completion certificate to become eligible to test for their learner’s license.

A certificate is issued upon completion of the drivers ed course.

Florida permit test online

Prepare to pass Florida DHSMV General Knowledge and Road Signs test. Practice 4 hour drug and alcohol test answers for Florida permit.

Florida Learners Permit 4-hour Drug & Alcohol Course

Florida TLSAE/Drug & Alcohol Course

Florida Drug and Alcohol Practice Test Answers Part 1

Florida Drug and Alcohol Practice Test Answers Part 2

Florida DHSMV Road Rules Test Answers Part 3

The Drug, Alcohol and Traffic Awareness Course (D.AT.A) also known as the first time driver course, Alcohol Drugs Accident Prevention Training (A.D.A.P.T.) and the Drug and Alcohol Class, is a 4 hour online course required by the DHSMV for all first time driver's license applicants. The class is taken prior to receiving a Florida learners permit.

The Florida Drug and Alcohol Test course aims to teach about the effects of drugs & alcohol on driving and related traffic laws to teen drivers or any first time drivers.

This course reduces the number of persons killed and injured on highways by helping drivers of all ages become well-informed and responsible. The program covers state laws, rules of the road, the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving habits and techniques for avoiding crashes.

A completion certificate will be mailed to you at the end of the course or you can have it emailed to you.

Search your question here